In my working environment it regularly happens that network shares are temporarily unavailable.
When opening a file in Blender from an unavailable share, it will be removed from recent files.
I think this is too destructive!
This should be optional or removed completely (or seperate as a user initiated clean up action).
Here is a proposal to make it optional via user preference.
I hope you understand the importance.