Page MenuHome

Save confirmation stops showing
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Win7 64bit
2.63 rc1 from blender.org (as well as other older versions from graphicall)

open default scene --> save a new .blend ---> ctrl + s to see the confirm dialog ---> make a change -> go FILE > Save

now make another change --> Ctrl +s and it saves auto with no confirm.


This is different behavior to previous versions of blender. Not really a show stopper or anything, just a bit unnerving.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Same on 2.63 rc1 32bit.

can check 2.62 for proper behavior

If anything, it is that first confirmation that probably should not show. If you have a file saved (i.e., assigned it a name), you make a change then hit "Save" expected behavior in almost all file-based applications is to simply save. The only time you should get the confirmation you mention is if you have chosen to overwrite an existing file whose path/name does not match the one currently loaded in the UI. Going to go back through docs around this feature to better understand the expected behavior.