Page MenuHome

Texture name flipped between original object and copy when duplicating.
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

submitting this on behalf of ROUBAL (see original post here: http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?252842-Texture-name-flipped-between-original-object-and-copy-when-duplicating)

quote:
I have noticed a weird behaviour in the dupplication process of an object with material and texture.

Textures names inverted between original object and copy when duplicating :

Just put in a scene a cube and add it a material and a texture name : Cube, Material, Tex.

Duplicate the cube : you get Cube.001 with Material and Tex.

Now, on Cube.001 :
- Click on the button showing "2" near the Material name, to make the material a Single User : you get Material.001.
- Click on the button showing "2" near the Texture name, to make the texture a Single User : you get Tex.001

OK, so far, everything is normal.

Now, restart from scratch in a new file.

As you did previously, just put in a scene a cube and add it a material and a texture name : Cube, Material, Tex.

Duplicate the cube : you get Cube.001 with Material and Tex.

Now, with this Cube.001 selected, instead of using the buttons to make Material and Texture Single Users, Type u key and in the pop up menu named Make Single Users, click on Materials +Tex.

Now, look at the name of the material and texture applied to Cube.001 and Cube :

You will notice that the Textures names have been inverted between Cube and Cube.001. I mean that we have Cube, Material, Tex.001 and Cube.001, Material.001, Tex.

I also tried to Make Single Users on the original Cube instead of the copy, and I get the same inversion in textures names.

This is a big problem, because I am currently making a system requiring many copies of groups of objects, and the naming inside the groups is very important and has to be homogeneous, with all objects/Materials/Textures in a group with with same naming rule : all ending by .001 for example in group XXXX.001

I did the same test in Blender 2.49b for Winx64, and discovered that the problem was already present in 2.49b ! So it is not specific to 2.62.3rev45633 but is a very old hidden bug.

Imho, this behaviour is not normal ! There is no reason that would justify that the operation could have an effect on the texture name of a non selected object (the original Cube) when making Single Users on the copy.

Tested on Windows 64 bits version under Win 7x64 Pro, on Intel Quad X9650-3GHz. 8GB of RAM.
(Quote end.)

I can confirm this behavour on Ubuntu 64 10.04 LTS blender 2.63 RC.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Fixed in svn rev45887. Thanks for the report, closing.

Sergey Sharybin (sergey) closed this task as Resolved.Apr 23 2012, 5:51 PM