Page MenuHome

Each "undo" in Node Editor creates a non-existent user for linked node groups
Closed, ArchivedPublic

Description

Version: 2.70 official (win 64)

How to reproduce:

  • Link the composite node group in the provided .blend (or any node group)
  • Add the linked node group into the composite node editor of another blend file.
  • Perform some null actions, like moving a node around
  • Press ctrl+Z to undo.
  • Notice that each instance of undo adds 1 to the number of users of the linked node group. There is no reason for this.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Sam Brubaker (rocketman) updated the task description. (Show Details)
Sam Brubaker (rocketman) raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage by Developer.
Sam Brubaker (rocketman) set Type to Bug.
Lukas Toenne (lukastoenne) triaged this task as Confirmed, Medium priority.Apr 2 2014, 11:39 AM

This happens not only with node groups - it's just very easy to see there.

Another example:

  1. Make an object group in the lib file
  2. Link this group into a new blend
  3. Move the group instance
  4. Check bpy.data.groups[groupname].users (should be 1)
  5. Undo
  6. Check bpy.data.groups[groupname].users (now 2)

The user count for groups is not displayed as obviously as the node group count, but same error happens there. Common issue seems to be the newlibadr_us function (instead of newlibadr). Same problem exists in 2.69.

@Lukas Toenne (lukastoenne), mind looking into the issue? You're already quite close to the solution even?

According to @Campbell Barton (campbellbarton) this issue is not easily solvable ... Resetting linked blocks' user counts to zero before loading undo stage could break or something. Leaving it to Campbell to maybe explain and close.

Ah, didn't pay much attention on the linked nature of the blocks. It's indeed quite difficult to solve.

Lukas Toenne (lukastoenne) closed this task as Archived.Oct 8 2014, 2:49 PM

Archiving for lack of urgency and/or solution.