Dragging a .blend file into blender closes current file without save prompt.
Open, NormalPublic


When dragging a .blend file from the windows file explorer into blender, the current open blend file is closed without a save prompt, regardless of the setting in user preferences.

Steps to Reproduce:
From a new .blend file -
Enable (if not set) the 'prompt on quit' setting in user preferences.
Make any change in the viewport. (for example, move the default cube)
Drag any .blend file into blender to open it.

Blender will close the current file without prompting a save.

Tested in windows 10 64bit, on Blender 2.77a

Aaron Carlisle (Blendify) raised the priority of this task from Normal to Needs Triage.May 17 2016, 4:25 PM

Blender supports a non-disruptive parallel non-blocking workflow. No modal popup (windows) are allowed, nothing to stop you from working. Of course you shouldn't lose your work on accidents! Solutions for this could be:

  • dialog before drop activates (not to save the previous, but to confirm or cancel to load the new blend)
  • undo to go back to previous state

We also have a project to support system dialogs for 'do you want to save' but that never really took off. I will make sure it gets listed on the active todo for 2.8 again.

Aaron: please note that the bug tracker is only for cases where blender fails to do what we (code, design) intended to do.
All the other cases are regular development topics and todos. That is not a 'need triage' but could get a friendly "is on the todo" message.

Ton Roosendaal (ton) changed Type from Bug to To Do.May 17 2016, 5:25 PM
David Jeske (jeske) added a comment.EditedJun 2 2016, 12:39 AM

I've just created patch D2047, which adds a blender confirm menu (like the one blender displays during file->quit) when there are unsaved changes and the user requests an open, open recent, or the user drag-and-drops a blend file on blender.

You can see a brief video of the patch in action here:


Note: This patch displays the blender style confirm menu on all platforms. If OS native modal dialogs are desired, this patch should make that easier, by creating a clear codepath where a confirmation request is shown and could be handled by an OS specific or blender internal confirmation. I'm happy to look at this if this is desired.

Note: blender currently does not consider changes to un-packed images "unsaved", so it won't show this dialog if there is an unsaved un-packed image. If this patch is accepted, I'm happy to make another patch to improve handling of unsaved un-packed assets to prevent losing work there.

Question: there could easily be a preference to enable this confirmation. Are there existing users who would prefer never to see this confirm, even if there is unsaved information that would be overwritten?