Page MenuHome

Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (Removed task)
Closed, InvalidPublic

Description

System Information
Windows 7 64-bit
Intel(R) HD Graphics

Blender Version
Blender 2.78b

Short description of error
Try to make multiple cameras on some viewports (3D View areas), not User Persp but Camera Persp. If you change the camera of one viewport by using of the Set Active Object as Camera (CTRL+Numpad 0) then all the cameras of all the viewports (3D View areas) become the same camera of the current viewport (3D View area). The bug is: why not the camera of the current viewport only is changed?

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error

  1. File > New
  2. Split Area into two 3D Views (Left and right)
  3. Select the default camera
  4. Go to the left viewport (left 3D View) > View menu > Cameras > Set Active Object as Camera (Or just type Ctrl+Numpad 0)
  5. Go to the right viewport (right 3D View): Add a second Camera, then grab and rotate it in a good place in order to view the default cube.
  6. Go to the right viewport (right 3D View) > View menu > Cameras > Set Active Object as Camera (Or just type Ctrl+Numpad 0) with the selected camera.
  7. Then remark that you'll have this error: The camera of the left 3D View changed too.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

My file "Cameras.blend" is not found. I try to re-upload it.

Manda Rajoelisolo (manda.3d.projects) renamed this task from Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same to Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (This task should be deleted).Mar 16 2017, 10:55 AM
Manda Rajoelisolo (manda.3d.projects) renamed this task from Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (This task should be deleted) to Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (REMOVED TASK).
Manda Rajoelisolo (manda.3d.projects) renamed this task from Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (REMOVED TASK) to Cameras on all viewports (3D View areas) are the same (Removed task).
Julian Eisel (Severin) closed this task as Invalid.
Julian Eisel (Severin) claimed this task.

What you describe is intended behavior but it's optional. You can disable it using the "Lock to Scene" option.

Note that even if there wouldn't be an option for this, we wouldn't consider this report a bug, but more of a feature request. In either way, thanks for the report, but no bug here :)