Page MenuHome

Deleting objects do not delete them from the blend file
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Blender Version
Broken: 2.8 7defb27

Short description of error
Deleting newly created objects from the scene does not delete them from the blend file. Need to repeat save/reopen cycle two times, so these objects would be deleted automatically.
Default startup scene objects deleted instantly, without save/reopen.

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error

  1. Create new object (Mesh Plane for eg.).
  2. Delete it.
  3. You should see it is still presented in Outliner > Datablocks > Objects.

Related Objects

Event Timeline

Sergey Sharybin (sergey) triaged this task as Normal priority.Nov 14 2017, 2:34 PM

yeah that's annoying, sometime it's even worse. You have to save/open/save/open/etc. until the whole chain of dependencies has been done. Like you delete obj1 wich had material1 which had tex1. You have to save and open and save to really get a file without obj1 which makes material1 with 0 user, then you must save/open to make tex1 with 0 user and then save/open again to really have that texture also removed. When you add linked groups to that story, it's sometime really time consuming and cumbersome to get a clean file.
An option "clean all unused datablocks and save" would really help.