Page MenuHome

LookDev HDRI map is deleted from disk when removed in Preferences
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Issue: LookDev HDRI images are deleted from local file system when the file is removed from the User Preferences.

Expected Results: When the file is removed from the Preferences panel the file will still remain on disk.

Steps to Reproduce:

  1. Load an HDRI Image in the Preferences panel.


  1. The LookDev image appears in the Preferences panel and in File Explorer:

  1. Click the Minus button in the Preferences panel to remove the HDRI Image:

  1. The HDRI Image is removed from the Preferences panel AND the File Explorer.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Ryan (mrleemrlee) triaged this task as Normal priority.
Ryan (mrleemrlee) added a comment.EditedJan 11 2019, 11:03 PM

OS: Windows 10 Education
Blender Beta Version: 2.80 Hash: 80ffa73b3f87, Jan 10, 2019

@Ryan (mrleemrlee)

When you install a HDRI that file is copied from your source location to the config folder of blender.

For example if you downloaded a file and it is stored in you download folder (in my case it is /home/jeroen/Downloads/MyPrettyHDRI.hdr).

You open Blender and add that file via the UI to the HDRI. Blender will make a copy of that file in your config folder; In my case that is /home/jeroen/.config/blender/2.80/datafiles/studiolights/world/MyPrettyHDRI.hdr. On windows this location is different, but you get the idea. When removing the HDRI via the UI only this copy of the file is removed. The original file should still be there /home/jeroen/Downloads/MyPrettyHDRI.hdr. This is how the system was designed. It is similar how presets are handled within blender.

If I understand you correctly your original file that you downloaded was deleted? eg /home/jeroen/Downloads/MyPrettyHDRI.hdr.

@Jeroen Bakker (jbakker)

If I understand you correctly your original file that you downloaded was deleted?

Yes, that is correct. I added the file from a location on my local machine, and when I removed the HDRI image from within Blender, the original file is deleted.

I haven't tried to reproduce this on a more recent build.

Well, I just tried it in today's build and I can no longer reproduce. So now it's working as expected.

Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) closed this task as Resolved.Mar 6 2019, 12:29 PM

Is not reproducable anymore, so closing ticket