Page MenuHome

Workspaces stop working after removing and adding them.
Closed, DuplicatePublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Manjaro updated
Graphics card: Nvidia GTX 580 Nvidia drivers

Blender Version
2.80 13.1.19 download 64 bit
Broken:

Short description of error
remove a all the workspaces and add some back and remove again then there are NO workspaces that you can add.

Raw startup, no work done other than imported preference.

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Brecht Van Lommel (brecht) triaged this task as Needs Information from User priority.

I can't reproduce this, please provide more exact steps to reproduce the problem from factory settings.

Removing all workspaces is not possible, always one must remain.

Further, it is not clear what it means that there are no workspaces that you can add. Is the menu under the (+) button completely empty? Items greyed out? Some kind of error when trying to use it?

First I removed the old 2.8 config and the problem is still there.
Testing this morning it seems to happen when I delete the workspace that I am currently in. Will try and test more later today. Tested more and have inconsistent failures.
Just got them all grey and then they came back again! ARG!

Now I have just Sculpting, UV Editing on screen and only when UV Editing is active are the selections greyed out. added, Rending and still stays greyed out in UV but works if the other two are active.

OK, short way: open fresh, remove scripting, click on UV Editing and can't add back scripting - all grey in every category.

Will try again to find a consistent way to kill it.

Result is that all items are greyed out.

Please provide screenshots of this is still an issue in the newest version.

I will make a video but don't have time right now, however I confirmed that the problem does still exist. I removed all possible screen and then started adding them back. I could add the first but then when clicking on one I could not add more and clicking on the other than I could.

Dead Blend. Seems you can save it in dead form. You can't add new workspaces to this on my computer.

Film. I had to repeat it 3 times to get it to

fail. Not very sure what the trigger is.

Jacques Lucke (JacquesLucke) raised the priority of this task from Needs Information from User to Needs Triage by Developer.Mar 14 2019, 5:22 PM

It's the object mode that makes the difference.