Page MenuHome

Orphan Data : I have now to save a file, close and reopen it, only then I can purge previous deleted meshes
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Windows-10-10.0.17134 64 Bits
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 1080 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 NVIDIA Corporation 4.5.0 NVIDIA 418.91

Blender Version
Broken: version: 2.80 (sub 49), branch: blender2.7, commit date: 2019-03-17 23:25, hash: rB9099305771ec
Worked: 2.80 (sub 42) 3d8cbb534f82

Short description of error
Orphan Data : I have to save a file, close and reopen it, only then I can purge previous deleted meshes.
I know that orphan data was changed lately, but why now do I have to do extra steps to get rid of deleted data?
Now I delete something and before I can get rid of it I have to save the file. Close it, open it again and then under orphan data, the previous deleted meshes are shown!
Why making a feature worse? I thought the changes were made because now you can get rid of deleted stuff without restarting or saving the file?

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error
Open the attached blend file.
In the outliner right click on the empty "Empty" and delete hirarchie.
Go to Outliner diplay mode orphan data, the previous deleted meshes are not shown.


Got to Outliner diplay mode Blender File. Under Meshes all meshes are still shown.

Save the blend file. Reopen it.
Go to Outliner display mode orphan data. Now you see the previous deleted meshes and you can purge them.