Page MenuHome

load factory erasing all setting without any confirmation
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Windows-10-10.0.17134 64 Bits
Graphics card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 630 Intel 4.5.0 - Build 26.20.100.6890

Blender Version
Broken: version: 2.80 (sub 74), branch: blender2.7, commit date: 2019-06-09 21:43, hash: rB030c7df19da9
Worked: (optional)

Short description of error
[I chose load factory setting and it erased all settings without any confirmation. this is very dangerous and silly ]

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error
[Please describe the exact steps needed to reproduce the issue]
[Based on the default startup or an attached .blend file (as simple as possible)]

Event Timeline

Probably settings "auto save " is enabled? The settings have a new auto save feature. This is not a file related thing.

Philipp Oeser (lichtwerk) lowered the priority of this task from Needs Triage by Developer to Confirmed, High.

I am getting this, too. It is happening when you have Auto Save Preferences disabled, which is indeed dangerous I think...
Without checking code, this might be because Auto Save Preferences gets enabled due to Load Factory Settings? And thus then it the gets saved?

Setting this to High priority...
@Campbell Barton (campbellbarton): mind checking?

I can't redo this, running "Load Factory Settings" from the File->Defaults or the Preferences menu.

Exiting after if not saving the preferences (the auto save option isn't changing in the menu either).

Not sure if it helps but can you give exact steps to redo this?

Happens here if you do it from the User Preferences "burger" menu [Save Preferences button is gone then and exiting after seems to save preferences -- even though Auto Save Preferences was disabled prior]