Page MenuHome

Make Single User doesn't work correctly between Linked Scenes
Closed, InvalidPublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Linux-4.19.51_1-x86_64-with-glibc2.9 64 Bits
Graphics card: TITAN X (Pascal)/PCIe/SSE2 NVIDIA Corporation 4.5.0 NVIDIA 430.14

Blender Version
Broken: version: 2.80 (sub 74), branch: master, commit date: 2019-06-29 20:58, hash: rBbe060c3990ad
Worked: 2.79b

Short description of error
When using two or more scenes in the same file, the Make Single User command produces unwanted results.
After copying the current scene as a linked scene, hitting Make Single User hides the original object and replaces it with the new one in both scenes.
The mesh data is still linked between the two in both scenes as expected, but the original object is no longer linked to the original scene.
Additionally, moving the new object out of the default collection causes it to disappear from the original scene's outliner entirely.

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error

  • Create new Scene by using the linked copy command
  • Select Cube and hit Make Single User ("Object" tested in this case, others might be bugged too)
  • Move Cube.001 to a new position in Scene.001
  • Go back to original Scene, Cube has been replaced by new scene's Cube.001 and has been moved
  • Additionally, move Cube.001 out of Collection in Scene.001
  • Cube.001 disappears in original Scene

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Pinus added a subscriber: Pinus.Jul 1 2019, 1:58 AM

Maybe this bug is also responsible for the problem with SaplingTree Addon?
See here: https://developer.blender.org/T66252

According to Cansecos commentary I found two cubes in the Properties (green triangle icon), a 001.cube and a 0 cube.
I only saw and deleted one cube in my scene before, then came the error message from SaplingTree
"cube 001 not in view layer ..."
When clicking on the 0 cube, a cube with boolean operations was displayed (!?)
I do not know how this cube came into the scene, I did not create it, and there was no fake user in the properties panel either.

As I said, that's just a consideration ...

Sebastian Parborg (zeddb) lowered the priority of this task from Needs Triage by Developer to Confirmed, Medium.

that's kind of totally expected, since collections are shared between scenes in this scenario.... Everything you do in one scene is reflected in the other one. No bug here.