Operating system: Windows-10-10.0.17134 64 Bits
Graphics card: GeForce GTX 1060/PCIe/SSE2 NVIDIA Corporation 4.5.0 NVIDIA 425.25
Broken: version: 2.80 (sub 74), branch: master (modified), commit date: 2019-07-10 15:13, hash: rB3fe0c32fae20
Short description of error
The button that shows in the Preferences editor when factory-defaults are in effect is confusing and needs a tooltip to explain its danger to users. As it stands, if a user presses the button they will lose their existing configuration unless they take un-obvious actions to prevent it.
Exact steps for others to reproduce the error
Start Blender with --factory-startup OR use File->Defaults->Load Factory Settings OR use the Load Factory Settings option from the Preferences editor hamburger menu.
The lower left corner of the Preferences Editor now changes to:
We see a button, with a check-box, and "Skip Auto-Save" which has the not terribly helpful tooltip "Toggle a context value".
If the user presses this button out of confusion or for whatever reason, it simply vanishes and now the default auto-save is re-enabled and unless the user takes the action of going into the hamburger menu and disabling auto-save, or re-loads default settings again, they will have their configuration overwritten when they exit.
The "Skip Auto-Save" button is a double-negative action (you click "Skip Auto-Save" in order to Not-Skip Auto-Save), includes a checkbox which is not actually a checkbox and cannot be toggled back on in any way, etc.
For 2.80, can we possibly slip in a tooltip specifically for the "[X] Skip Auto-Save" button that tells the user what the effect of pushing it will be? Something verbose and explicit like:
Because the factory default settings have been loaded, auto-saving of preferences at exit is temporarily disabled to avoid overwriting your previous settings. This button will remove that protection. WARNING: this may cause overwriting of your previously saved configuration with the values currently in effect unless you disable Auto Save Preferences in the menu to the left before exiting Blender.