Page MenuHome

Bug: Blender will not let me delete .Blendfiles
Closed, ArchivedPublic

Description

Windows 7
AMD A10-5800k APU with Radeon (tm) HD Graphics 3.80 GHz
64 bit Operating system:
Graphics card:

Blender Version
Broken: Latest release 2.80,

interestingly when I opened the final release version of blender 2.8 it had my old .blend files and user settings from an earlier release candidate, in these scenes I often cannot select or edit and/or move anything except in a strange sort of edit mode, but I can append objects from new scenes and they can be interacted with normally.

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error
Based on the default startup or an attached .blend file (as simple as possible).

Details

Type
Bug

Event Timeline

Sybren A. Stüvel (sybren) triaged this task as Needs Information from User priority.

Please describe how we can reproduce this issue. Does it also happen with newer files?
When opening the file on my machine things work fine. Be sure to update your graphics drivers to the latest version.

Yes, thank you for replying, and so soon, I don't update my graphics drivers. I'm not a "computer guy".
I'm actually surprised about seeing all my older files from the release candidate, I expected to start over but there they were. And please excuse me, I'm not even concerned really about these not working properly. My problem is I can't delete them. Or, any of the newer ones from the final release version of 2.8
I'm afraid of getting crowded out of my own .blend file browser. I select a file to open, I press x or delete and the option to delete is not there.
Thank you.

@Damian Sellus (Damian-Sellus) you cannot delete .blend file from Blender browser file, devs had add security rule to not do it, Blender cannot use yet OS Trashcan

To delete your file you must use Window file browser and delete .blend files from there

[EDIT] to avid load old setting saved in .blend you can uncheck LoadUI in blender open file browser

Brecht Van Lommel (brecht) closed this task as Archived.
Brecht Van Lommel (brecht) claimed this task.

This is indeed not a bug, deleting files from the file browser will come back later.