Page MenuHome

Remove "Keep Session" Option
ClosedPublic

Authored by Campbell Barton (campbellbarton) on Feb 6 2019, 7:28 AM.

Details

Summary
  • Relies on storing data in quit.blend in the temp dir which may be be deleted on reboot (depending on the platform, it's deleted here).
  • By default this still shows the "Save Changes..." popup.
  • It might be older than the currently saved blend file if you have multiple Blender instances open.

    Generally this isn't so useful if you have multiple Blender's open.

Mostly my concern is this is a way to change the behavior of file IO
that I don't think many people use, and relies on the temp directory
which might get clobbered.

Diff Detail

Repository
rB Blender
Branch
TEMP-REMOVE-KEEP-SESSION (branched from master)
Build Status
Buildable 2844
Build 2844: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Feb 6 2019, 12:07 PM

This feature was an attempt to implement document persistence, which is actually not a bad concept, if done well. Jeff Raskin promoted the idea with his Canon CAT in the 80's. Most modern Mac apps use an implementation of this (it's built into the Appkit/Cocoa framework), where a document is auto-saved and auto-restored when you re-open. For text documents, notes and PDF's it's actually rather nice that documents stay persistent when you close and re-open. All modern smartphones also work this way, without manual saving and loading of documents, so the general concept is somewhat forward-looking.

On the Mac, these apps do both auto-saving, versioning hybernation and restoring. These three things work together to provide a more persistent computing experience.

However, that said, the way it was implemented in Blender was somewhat weak, and not enabled by default, so I think very few users actually used this.

I don't mind too much either way, but the general concept of making documents more persistent I think is a good one. Like with obscure features, we can choose to improve or remove. I don't have a strong opinion on this one, other than to say the general idea of this is actually a good one, and forward looking too.

Have a bit of mixed feelings here… On one end I find that feature kind of useful as it is, even with all its flaws. Would not fight to keep it though, this can always be redone better (maybe even through an add-on) at some point if we really want to. So that’s sort of abstention for me here. :)