Page MenuHome

Remove option for disabling the override when factory settings are loaded
ClosedPublic

Authored by Campbell Barton (campbellbarton) on Jul 12 2019, 10:05 AM.

Details

Summary

When factory settings are loaded Auto-Saving Preferences is disabled.

Currently there is the option to "Skip Auto-Save" which can be toggled,
however based on user feedback from T66675, this is confusing.

It seems that toggling the override for auto-save is too easily confused with the option it's self.


This patch removes the button, replacing it with a note that factory settings are loaded and the user preferences won't be auto-saved.

This is to avoid the case where users load factory settings, then edit them to their liking, expecting auto-save will be used (since it's enabled in the menu).

The method of activating a message box is weak since it doesn't wrap lines, so that part could be improved on, just checking this is a reasonable direction to go since this option caused a lot of confusion.

Diff Detail

Repository
rB Blender
Branch
TEMP-PREFS-SAVE-UI (branched from master)
Build Status
Buildable 4076
Build 4076: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

Brecht Van Lommel (brecht) requested changes to this revision.EditedJul 15 2019, 7:21 PM

I suggest to either have a button that says "Save Preferences" or a text that says "Changes are not saved".

I don't think it's clear to have a text that say "Factory Settings". That's the reason saving does not happen, but I'm not sure it explains much to the user. Hinting them to save the preferences if they want seems better to me, I don't know if more explanation is needed.

release/scripts/startup/bl_ui/space_userpref.py
93

Would just have "Save Preferences" instead of "Save Current Preferences".

93–99

This renaming is helpful I think.

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Jul 15 2019, 7:21 PM
  • Remove message, just show save preferences button if factory settings are loaded.

The issue with hiding this information from the user is the behavior doesn't seem very logical (the users puts Blender into "factory settings" mode) which isn't communicated and changes how auto-save works.

However, accidentally saving over settings seems to be the main thing to avoid.

Updated the patch based on requested changes, adding a note to the tooltip of load factory settings that preferences will need to be manually saved afterwards.

Fine with me, but I think the tooltips should be clarified a bit further.

source/blender/windowmanager/intern/wm_files.c
1746

Not changed in this commit. But I saw this when hovering the mouse over the grayed out Save Preferences button after loading factory settings, and it was confusing.

"separately" I guess refers to the time these were part of the startup.blend, which is not something users would be aware of. "startup file preferences" is also confusing since "startup file" and "preferences" are separate things.

I suggest to change this to:

Save preferences for the next time Blender is started
1875–1876

Suggest to change tooltip to:

Load factory default preferences.
To make changes to preferences permanent, use Save Preferences
2050–2051
Load factory default startup file and preferences
To make changes permanent, use Save Startup File and Save Preferences
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 16 2019, 4:43 PM
source/blender/windowmanager/intern/wm_files.c
1746

This is actually correct, but I don't think it should be.

Preferences as part of startup are still used, if you save startup and don't save preferences - the preferences from the startup are used.

This is confusing if you ever delete the userprefs.blend manually, then open blender and get whatever preferences were set when you saved your startup.


Suggest not to have userprefs in startup, although this has implications for the startup.blend distributed with Blender, since we need a way to update it.

Short term we could only read preferences startup.blend when read from memory.

Made proposal for startup/userpref change T67097: Don't use startup.blend for reading preferences based on comments in last message.

Campbell Barton (campbellbarton) marked 2 inline comments as done and an inline comment as not done.Jul 17 2019, 1:21 AM
source/blender/windowmanager/intern/wm_files.c
1746

This is a quite obscure corner case because:

  • Pressing Next in the splash screen Quick Setup already saves userpref.blend.
  • Preferences are autosaved if you make any changes.

So I don't see a reason to have this in the tooltip anymore even if theoretically there is still some case where it can happen.

+1 for tooltip change then, just noting the current tip is *correct*.