Go to Texture Paint Mode with some Textures loaded. In T-Panel go to the Slots Tab. There you will find a Button labeled "Save All Images". However, do not push this Button !
This Button overwrites all involved/edited Textures in the Texture Paint Slots at once and instantly, without further inquiry, to the directory of the origins.
It's not a bug, it's working pretty well !