Page MenuHome

Move the transform info away from the header, into the viewport.
Open, NormalPublic

Description

Currently, when you transform any item in Blender, we take over the header while the transform is happening:

This makes for a vey flashing/blinking UI, where both the header and the viewport gizmo disappears and re-appears in a jarring way.

Instead, the header and viewport gizmos should stay untouched, and the transform info can be moved to the viewport along the bottom.

Details

Type
To Do

Event Timeline

William Reynish (billreynish) triaged this task as Normal priority.
kursad k (kursadk) added a comment.EditedNov 11 2018, 5:07 AM

Thanks for adding this bug.

I personally think that this "feature", "bug" or "incomplete" inplmenetation is really annoying when modelling or doing similar tasks. Icons constantly disappear and appear during edits which makes the whole 2.8 experience to be a dizzy one, at least in my use case. I tried to bring this up in a BA forum post. https://blenderartists.org/t/any-way-to-keep-the-screen-widgets-on-the-screen-while-editing-in-edit-mode/1132726/2

I imagine that the additional information about the edits ( like the transform deltas etc) can still be shown at the bottom of the 3d viewport which seems to be just empty in general. I personally see no reason to disable UI elements to put a single line of info up there.

thanks

Maybe stating the obvious:

  • This will show as a bottom-left aligned opaque rectangle with text drawn into it.
  • It must draw ontop of everything (toolbar, redo panel, look dev etc).


Now that we have the status bar, information about operator hotkeys can be displayed at the bottom of the screen.
As for what to do with the rest of the transformation information; Why not have the operator panel pop up while you are performing an operation instead of after you confirm the operation?

Most of the information is the same anyway, and it is presented in a much cleaner way in the operator panel.
For this to work the operator panel would have to live-update, and it would have to contain extra information like axis lock: ‘along global z’ etc…
If you press escape or right click to cancel the current operator, then the operator panel could go back to displaying the previous operation.

Does anyone know a reason not to do it this way? This just makes sense to me. :)