Page MenuHome

Make Single User after Objects to Scene must be done twice
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Mac OSX 10.12.6
Graphics card: AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB graphics

Blender Version
Broken: Version 2.80 (2019-03-12)
Worked: (optional)

Short description of error
After I link an object from one scene to another (Make Links > Objects to Scene) Then switch to the scene I linked it to, I want to make it single user (Relations > Make Single User > Objects & Data & Materials) I need to do this twice, the first time renames the object but the mesh and materials stay linked to the object in the other scene. I need to do it again to unlink the mesh and textures.

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error

  1. Create a second Scene (Default = "Scene.001")
  2. Switch back to Scene
  3. Select Default Cube
  4. Menu - Object > Make Links > Objects to Scene > Scene.001
  5. Switch to Scene.001
  6. Expand the Cube Object in the Outliner to see Mesh name and Material name
  7. Select the Cube
  8. Menu - Object > Relations > Make Single User > Objects & Data & Materials

The Cube Object is renamed Cube.001
The Cube deselects and the Object in the Outliner contracts

  1. Re-expand the Object in the Outliner

Note that the Mesh name remains Cube and the Material name remains Material

  1. Re-select the Cube
  2. Menu - Object > Relations > Make Single User > Objects & Data & Materials

Note that it has now unlinked from the cube in the other scene