Page MenuHome

Automatically Store Quick Favorites
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

A large number of users have reported that they have issues with the Quick Favorites feature. Currently, users have to go to Preferences and click Save Preferences to store the Quick Favorites.

The trouble is that

  • A: users might easily forget to do this
  • B: It's completely hidden and non-discoverable.

The simplest solution is probably simply to store these immediately when updating the list.

We think we will solve this by:

  • Automatically saving Preferences when you quit. This applies to both actual preferences, and things like Quick Favorites
  • We will add a button to revert to the previous Preferences state, for tinkerers

Details

Type
To Do

Event Timeline

William Reynish (billreynish) renamed this task from Auto-store Quick Favorites to Automatically Store Quick Favorites .May 5 2019, 6:11 PM

Note that this is the same issue as we already have with adding shortcuts.

Most likely auto-saving user preferences resolves.

Not sure having this as a paper cut helps, it's more a design task.

Campbell Barton (campbellbarton) lowered the priority of this task from Normal to Needs Information from User.May 6 2019, 7:17 AM

Marking incomplete because this isn't ready for a developer to tackle.

Auto-saving whole preferences is not a good idea even autosave just a whole keymap, because if you set something wrong or just wanna check something you have to just restart blender now to restore preferences. If only quick favorites could be autosaved separately, that would be a good solution. If it isn't possible then better off keep it as it is.

Most, if not all, similar graphics apps store user preferences immediately without needing a separate confirmation step.

We could solve it by just doing that, and adding a preference for Preferences for developers who want to fiddle with Preferences without saving.

I kind of agree with @Stanislav Ovcharov (Stan1) here.
If you are in User Preferences Window, there is a button to save them, very discoverable. Also, playing around with different configurations and settings is very common, and I for one would rather save those manually.
However, if I explicitly add something to the Quick Favorites (or presets, e.g.), I would expect those to be saved automatically. The Quick Favorites are less of a setting that I first have to try out in order to know what it does, like it is usually the case with the settings in User Prefs, but something that I already know how to use, which is why I add those to Quick Favs in the first place. So having those saved automatically seems logical to me.

The simplest solution seems like just always storing preferences when changed. It’s what most users would expect anyway. Developers who want to ‘play around with’ various preference options could still have a way to do that.

Well, then would be great to leave a choice for user, an option for autosave preferences. Sort of - Do you want old style saving preferences? leave autosave preferences checkbox empty, otherwise check it.

The simplest solution seems like just always storing preferences when changed. It’s what most users would expect anyway. Developers who want to ‘play around with’ various preference options could still have a way to do that.

I don't think it's developers who play around with preferences. Isn't it more the users who want to find out what all those settings do?
Why not simply autosave Quick Favorites and keep User Prefs as it is now?
Presets are being automatically saved already.

If we always auto save preferences we lose the ability to temporarily change something for the current session alone. I often use it if I don't want to permanently change something, or need it just for the current file I'm working with.
Either way I don't have very strong feelings about it, most user preferences are relatively easy to undo or restore to defaults; if you want to fully reset you can easily load factory settings by erasing userpref.blend.

From this discussion I understand the problem seems to reside mostly with keymaps alone, which are complex and fiddly, and require a lot of tweaking to get right. Point being that in most situations maybe all preferences could be auto saved, except for keymaps which would require explicit saving.

They already have an export button anyway, maybe add another one next to it to save, highlight it with an alert color when there are unsaved changes.

Otherwise auto-saving only the bookmarks file seems reasonable. We already do it for the recent-files.txt on file load, which uses a very similar structure.

By default, now in the themes of the interface?
This is desirable at least for export and import.
Ie, I created a set to save 3D max in obj and this set is selected by default. And not like now after the release I have to choose everything from the list.

Auto-saving whole preferences is not a good idea even autosave just a whole keymap, because if you set something wrong or just wanna check something you have to just restart blender now to restore preferences. If only quick favorites could be autosaved separately, that would be a good solution. If it isn't possible then better off keep it as it is.

I share the same POV with @Stanislav Ovcharov (Stan1) sometimes when retopoing if the high res model has the same color as my default edges color i will change the edge color for this session only. Next time when i open the Blender i still have my default edges color. Let the user decide what to same and what not :)


That's what I meant, I created a preset and I have to select it every time to use it. Why not add a button to use the default so that it always remains for this export? If it is not necessary there is a reset by default. If I want to use it always I have to change the settings in the code. It is not comfortable.

Discussed in UI meeting:

Conclusion is to save Preferences when quitting, and to add a button to revert to the previous state, for preference tinkerers.

Conclusion is to save Preferences when quitting, and to add a button to revert to the previous state, for preference tinkerers.

Will there be an option in the preferences to disable that behavior?
People like me are constantly tweaking the preferences/keymap/addons/themes etc, and most of the time we don't want it to be saved, and that option to return to the previous state only is not efficient enough, it's very easy to forget and mess things up.
So if possible make it optional.

@Regnas (Regnas) we'll try and do this in a way that makes it easy to restore, ultimately if not saving is useful - it can be an option.