Page MenuHome

Toggling "Linked" checkbox in redo panel makes all future Duplicate operations into Duplicate Linked
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

System Information
Operating system: Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64-bit
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti

Blender Version
Broken: 2.80 d62a749fcf48

Problem:
The "Linked" checkbox in the redo panel for the Duplicate operation (Shift+D) overrides the intended operation on future uses. That is, Duplicate can be made to Duplicate Linked instead. This is because the state of the checkbox persists between operations.

Steps to reproduce (from default scene):
(Optional: set Properties editor to Object Data tab and observe datablock name/use count)

  1. Duplicate the cube (Shift+D).
  2. Expand the redo panel and check the "Linked" checkbox.

There are now two cubes sharing Cube mesh datablock (as expected).

  1. Now, Duplicate a cube again (Shift+D).

There are now three cubes sharing Cube mesh datablock. The "Linked" checkbox is still checked.

Expected Result: The first two cubes with Cube mesh datablock, and the third with a new Cube.001 mesh datablock.
The "Linked" checkbox should be unchecked with Duplicate (Shift+D).

Example of this being a problem in practice:
User intends to make a linked duplicate of object. Accidentally makes normal duplicate. Fixes this by checking "Linked" checkbox. User's intention was "undo that duplicate, and perform a linked duplicate instead", but what actually happened was "never make unlinked duplicates again".

Further Notes:
Duplicate Linked (Alt+D) does not have this problem: the checkbox is set correctly each time and changing it does not interfere with shift+D Duplicate.