Page MenuHome

BlenderKit creates files as soon as it is enabled
Closed, ResolvedPublicBUG

Description

I have created this issue, but am still finding out the details of what actually happens.

I have noticed the last year that occasionally I have to remove blenderkit files from my home folder. To my knowledge I haven't enabled (I veryfied) blender kit add on at all. Inside the folder a json file is stored. Sometimes it happens often, the other times it does not.

I find it also strange that it want to store files in the user folder. In linux storing it in the cache folder would make more sense just like cycles does it.

Revisions and Commits

Event Timeline

Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) triaged this task as 90 priority.Oct 17 2019, 9:22 AM
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) created this task.
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) renamed this task from BlenderKit downloads and creates files even when not enabled to BlenderKit creates files even when not enabled.Oct 17 2019, 9:47 AM
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) lowered the priority of this task from 90 to 30.
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) updated the task description. (Show Details)

I can confirm the creation of $HOME/blenderkit_data.

More than a week without reply or activity. Due to the policy of the tracker archiving for until required info/data are provided.
(in this case the report was never complete, @Vilem Duha (pildanovak) we can always reopen this or you can report a new issue if you have a more clear picture of the issue).

Dalai Felinto (dfelinto) changed the task status from Unknown Status to Unknown Status.Nov 26 2019, 10:46 PM
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) changed the task status from Unknown Status to Unknown Status.Dec 12 2019, 7:54 AM
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) raised the priority of this task from 30 to 90.

Seems this was triaged incorrectly. reopening as this is still the case

If I understand this right, Blender doesn't touch or run/register add-on files until enabled. I don't understand how there could possibly be a way for BlenderKit to execute any code at all. Is there some kind of 'preregistration' happening when blender checks for installed(not enabled) addons?

Vilem Duha (pildanovak) changed the task status from Needs Triage to Needs Developer to Reproduce.Mar 18 2020, 1:08 PM

This happens in the unit test bl_load_addons.py, which enables all (except blacklisted) add-ons one by one.
In my opinion this shouldn't create new directories in my home directory, or download files from the internet.

Bastien Montagne (mont29) changed the subtype of this task from "Report" to "Bug".May 27 2020, 5:55 PM

I think the original bug report can be corrected - BlenderKit really only creates the directory upon registration, when enabled.

Germano Cavalcante (mano-wii) changed the task status from Needs Developer to Reproduce to Confirmed.Jun 3 2020, 5:32 PM

@Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) can you rename this task to correct it? Not sure if I should edit it myself or not -
BlenderKit really never created files when not enabled, it happens after registration, mostly through tests suite.

Perhaps we should close this as it has been validated to be incorrect.

Well some developers (@Sybren A. Stüvel (sybren) ) don't like that after activation (through tests suite) the addon creates directories, and I am actually just working on some fixes for it - that's why I only wanted to rename the task. I can also create a new one.

Sybren A. Stüvel (sybren) renamed this task from BlenderKit creates files even when not enabled to BlenderKit creates files as soon as it is enabled.Tue, Jul 7, 2:45 PM