Page MenuHome

Re-render after saving a render result as image with 'Copy' option turned OFF makes blender unresponsive
Confirmed, NormalPublicBUG

Description

System Information
Operating system: Windows-10-10.0.18362 64 Bits
Graphics card: GeForce RTX 2080 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 NVIDIA Corporation 4.5.0 NVIDIA 431.86

Blender Version
Broken: versions 2.79 & 2.81 (sub 16), branch: master, commit date: 2019-11-20 14:27, hash: rB26bd5ebd42e3
Worked: (optional)

Short description of error
Render with F12, save the rendered image with 'Copy' turned off, and render again. This makes (parts of) Blender unresponsive.

Exact steps for others to reproduce the error

  1. Render the default cube.
  2. Image - Save as, and uncheck Copy in the options.
  3. Click Save as image.
  4. Re-render the image.
  5. Press to close the render window (it doesn't).
  6. Press F12 to re-render (it doesn't).

Strangely enough some parts of Blender are still responsive. For example +F12 still switches to the timeline.

Event Timeline

Philipp Oeser (lichtwerk) lowered the priority of this task from 90 to 50.Dec 2 2019, 4:24 PM

Confirmed, not sure yet where it hangs...

Philipp Oeser (lichtwerk) renamed this task from Render while relative path is checked crashes to Re-render while relative path is checked freezes.Dec 2 2019, 4:25 PM
Philipp Oeser (lichtwerk) renamed this task from Re-render while relative path is checked freezes to Re-render after saving a renderresult as image with 'Copy' option turned OFF makes blender unresponsive.Dec 2 2019, 4:43 PM

Could even reproduce in 2.79...

Sybren A. Stüvel (sybren) renamed this task from Re-render after saving a renderresult as image with 'Copy' option turned OFF makes blender unresponsive to Re-render after saving a render result as image with 'Copy' option turned OFF makes blender unresponsive.Jan 20 2020, 2:41 PM
Sybren A. Stüvel (sybren) updated the task description. (Show Details)
Jeroen Bakker (jbakker) changed the subtype of this task from "Report" to "Bug".Mon, Feb 3, 9:56 AM

My first guess would be that there is still a lock on the image buffer when using the Copy Option. Looking more into the operation it selects the copy by default for rendered images. But users can still change it afterwards. As rendered images don't have a filepath we might want to hide the copy option from the user interface as it always needs to be ticked? We should discuss this with the UI/UX team as the solution might just be to hide the Copy option in the UI.